A small win of mine, is that I got a 4-month extension on my internship job! It was a little stressful before I got the good news because, as I was preparing my progress report, I realized that I had more troubleshooting success than actual progress. I had a lot of data, but for projects that didn’t work. Since the Winter Term started as well, I was worried about falling behind in the classes I’d have to take if I didn’t continue my job. However, after communicating my progress, I was given another 4 months to work on the project and am no longer worrying about falling behind on my studies!


 

Since I got an internship extension, it meant that I could drop one of the 2 university courses I was enrolled in. This is a small win in itself because my tuition was $600 lighter, and now, I can sleep in (somewhat) 2 days of the week now.


 

bought a USB Wi-fi adapter recently. Now my misbehaving Wi-fi card has a back-up, albeit a super clunky one. It’s okay.


 

I made up a spaghetti sauce recipe that is quite good! Here is it below:

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium-sized tomatoes, cut into quarters
  •  A small handful of dried mushrooms (a mix is best)
  • A small handful of sun-dried tomatoes
  • Half a zucchini, diced
  • Half a green pepper, diced
  • 1/2 cup generic tomato sauce
  • (Optional) Small can (about 1/2 cup) tomato paste to thicken the sauce
  • Chopped basil (4-5 leaves)
  • Splash of fish sauce
  • 1 tablespoon of honey
  • 2 shallots, sliced thinly
  • Chopped parsley (to taste)
  • Grated Parmesan cheese (to taste)

Steps:

  1. In a large pot, fry the shallots in some oil; in another little pot, boil the sun-dried tomatoes and mushrooms together in 1 cup of water and let it reduce to about half the original volume.
  2. After the shallots are fried, throw in the vegetables (green pepper, zucchini, and tomatoes) and cook together. Then, add in the mushrooms and sun-dried tomatoes (along with the water that you boiled them in).
  3. Using the little fry pan, fry up some garlic with butter (optional here, but you can also fry some chopped green onion together with the garlic, too).
  4. While the garlic (and green onion if you used it) is sizzling in the butter, add in the 1/2 cup of tomato sauce to the pot of vegetables. Keep stirring contents of both until the garlic has browned a little.
  5. Then, pour the garlic (green onion) butter mix into the large pot with the vegetables and sauce.
  6. If the consistency of the sauce is too runny, here is where you add in the tomato paste.
  7. Here, I taste the sauce and generally add 1 tbsp honey and 1tbsp fish sauce to it (optional).
  8. Then, near the end, I will throw in the chopped basil, stir it around, and turn off the heat.
  9. Now, the sauce is ready to serve with the pasta! ( I generally have the parsley and Parmesan cheese on the side and add it to my pasta after plating it).

 

To end, an inspiring quote I found:

“Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.” – George Bernard Shaw

 

Small wins are small, yes, but mighty! Let’s keep celebrating them! 🙂
-Tiffany

3 thoughts on “Small Wins | Internship extension, faulty Wi-fi solution, saving $$$, and a bonus spaghetti sauce recipe!

Leave a Reply

