Write about what you did last weekend as though you’re a music critic reviewing a new album (or single).


 

Male host: We are here now to review the new single released by Tiffany, just last week.

Female host: Ah yes! It’s been a while. I wonder what this one is like!

M: Why don’t we listen to it together?

(Song plays)

… wondering if I am making the right choice…
… when that one knows how to hurt more than that one knows how to care…
… what is respect? What is trust? One thing is for sure…
… by suffering needlessly, I am only disrespecting–myself.

(Song ends)

F: …

M: Well, the mood was… certainly… dark.

F: I agree. I think we can all relate to these feelings though.

M: What do you mean?

F: Well, when someone you care about lies to you? Or purposely hurts you for whatever reason? Like out of revenge?

M: I see where you are coming from. Reminds me of a time I ran away from home to try to get back at my dad for grounding me. I got a good whooping after, but I know that they were worried about me first and foremost.

F: Haha, thank you for sharing the story, but let’s get back on track. With regards to the mood of this song, I’d say that it is very comtemplative.

M: Maybe… also, the struggle when finding out that you didn’t love yourself as much as you should have?

F: Where did that come from? That was rather deep…

M: Let’s just say that I know what it is like to cling onto an unhealthy love because I didn’t know how to love myself first and foremost.

F: Wow, if you wouldn’t mind, how about we go for supper after and talk about this further? You seem to have a lot of wisdom!

M: Hah! Sure, why not! So, now we end off with the final verdict. What we have here is a slow and melancholy ballad. It is a very relatable one too, we believe, because it brings to light a question that I’m sure many of us ask ourselves with regards to different aspects of life. That question is, “How much suffering can I voluntarily let myself go through before I start hurting myself?”

F: Yes! With that, we will end off our Music Reviewcast. I’m F.

M: And I’m M. We hope you have a great day and take it easy on yourselves!


 

Daily post’s daily prompt: B+

3 thoughts on “When there is not enough self-love

Leave a Reply

