According to Google, an idol is a person or thing that is greatly admired, loved, or revered. I have a few, one of which just passed away yesterday. Here they are:


 

In High School: Freddie Mercury and David Bowie

These two guys were my idols growing up; they still are. I found their creativity, uniqueness, energy, and confidence extremely inspiring. They were truly one of their own kind. They inspired me to be proud of any talents and skills that I had, and to share them when I could with energy! They taught me that it is okay to be weird and stand out. Even though both of them have passed on, their influences on me continue to impact me today in a positive way.

In my first and second year of University: The K-Pop band Bigbang and 2NE1

I went through a K-Pop phase when I was in university for a while. These two were my favorites because both groups have members that had their own special talents (ex. soulful singing, delicate singing, wicked dance moves, great rap skills). They were a breath of fresh air for me because so many K-Pop groups nowadays are super uniform; where their members have similar body types, facial features, and heights. These two bands showed me how, by combining different strengths properly, you can get synergy. 1+1 is now equal to 3, 4, 5… and more! They inspired me to become more well-rounded.

In my 3rd year of university, to the present: Myself

All the good and bad that have happened to me, have led me to this day. I have gone through a lot and I know that there will be more hardships later on in life. But, I’m confident in my strength (both physical and mental). I know that I can deal with whatever life throws at me!


In response to the Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: Teen Age Idol

Who did you idolize as a teenager? Did you go crazy for the Beatles? Ga-ga over Duran Duran? In love with Justin Bieber? Did you think Elvis was the livin’ end?

Leave a Reply

