Dear Me of 2017,

Right now, I am sitting in the little Guest Room at his house typing this up. I know that to you, resolutions don’t really exist. To you, resolutions are, at most, a reminder to keep improving upon yourself!

Right now, I’m wondering where you are in life, and what you are doing right now. I wonder where you are living and whether you have decided to work or pursue Graduate Studies. However, I know you… Any decision you will have made, is one that I know I can place confidence in.

If there is anything I learned in the year of 2015, it is that nothing is set in stone. I also know, that when adversity strikes, you always manage to rise above it. Besides the couple of white hairs you may get from the stress and tendency to fall into unhealthy habits at those times, from past experience, I know that you only get stronger, smarter, and more efficient afterwards. Two white hairs for the ability to tackle future challenges more easily? Sounds like a good trade. However! Since I realize that you have a tendency to fall into unhealthy habits when stressed, I hope that when this message gets to you, you:

  • Consistently try to get enough sleep, even when you have a lot to do.
  • Have gotten even BETTER at not procrastinating than you are now. 9 times out of 10, you sleep late because you are working on something you could have worked on earlier instead of browse through social media or searching up obscure things on the internet.
  • Have learned to take preemptive measures and get rid of any junk food lying around a week before you expect to be stressed out. I know you’d eat them otherwise… and regret it too.
  • Consistently eat iron-rich foods about a week before that time of the month. Anemia-induced fatigue is not fun… and not productive.
  • Remember not to neglect exercise and attribute it to the excuse that you simply don’t have time. I ย know you know that there are many 5-min workout videos on Youtube that you can just play and exercise along with as a work-break.
  • Make an effort to eat healthy… even during bad times. Just because you don’t feel like eating when you feel bad, don’t neglect your body. Make sure that you eat enough and get enough nutrition! Even when you feel bad, you still deserve to be healthy. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hmm… I wonder how your Chinese is now (Cantonese and Mandarin). At this moment, I know that I have a lot of anxiety when it comes to practicing it with native speakers. However, I am trying and won’t give up! I want to pave a road to confidence and fluency, and am working hard to meet you at the end of the road!

Also, I hope to see you still working on blogging. Show me that I can make it stick!

I will meet you at the top, you strong, capable, hardworking, caring, smart, and driven woman!

Love from,
Me of 2016


Daily Post Prompt: Write Here, Write Now

7 thoughts on “Dear Me of 2017

  1. Hello Tiffany,

    That was some good advice that you gave for your future self, good luck with the language learning and I hope that you have better luck than I have in that area (I am currently doing the lazy approach, I try to do one free French lesson on Duolingo.com each day on my mobile phone), and good luck starting a simple exercise routine; here is a simple exercise routine that I do every day (I only do one set at-a-time instead 5 though ๐Ÿ˜€ , I also do burpees (http://www.wikihow.com/Do-a-Burpee) randomly throughout the day, and I try to jog three times a week and do a few pull-ups and chin-ups and bench presses):

    I see that you are making some adjustments to your blog, a new theme, widgets, menu, et cetera; well done. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I still recommend adding your About page (https://musingsofamapletree.wordpress.com/about/) to your Custom Menu because often new visitors like to view and/or comment on that page according to The Daily Post (https://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/11/28/aboutpage/), and I recommend maybe adding some of these widgets: Recent Comments, Pages, Archives, Search, Gravatar Profile, Top Posts & Pages, Top Clicks, RSS Links, Blog Stats, Posts I Like, and Blogs I Follow.

    Good luck,
    -John Jr

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

