Thankful for the Good and the Bad

When it comes to Thanksgiving, it is celebrated in two different months, depending on your country of residence.

Though the days may be different, it doesn’t change the meaning that this day holds. For some people, it means giving thanks for a bountiful harvest or having had enough to eat during the year. For some people, it is simply a time for giving thanks.

While it is easy to take good things for granted, sometimes all it takes to realize them is to experience some hardship. It is important to be thankful for the good in our lives, but it is also important to be thankful of all the bad–for they have helped mold you into the person you are today.

Here are 10 “bad” things I am thankful for (some silly and some serious). I hope you read these and discover more things to be thankful for that you didn’t realize existed before!

  1. I am thankful for the difficulties I have getting out of bed in the mornings because it means that my bed is comfortable, that I am cozy, and would like to continue being in a state of repair and detoxification.
  2. I am thankful for the times I forget my transit card on my way to school or work because it means that I have to walk back home to get it. This equates to more time looking at nature and clearing my mind for the day ahead.
  3. I am thankful for my baby hairs that always seem to poke my eyes or stick out no matter how I tie back my hair because they remind me to not let the little problems in life bother me.
  4. I am thankful for the times I wake up with sore muscles after a day of strenuous exercise because it reminds me to stretch more thoroughly next time and take an Omega-3 before I go to sleep next time.
  5. I am thankful for the first time my job application got rejected because I found out later that I wasn’t ready for it at that time. A year later, after a year of general work experience, I got the job I had originally applied for.
  6. I am thankful for the bout of depression I had in the Winter Semester of my first year of university because it taught me that it was not only important to take care of your body, but also your mind. After all, how can you expect your body to function well, if the control center behind it, namely your brain, is not feeling its best?
  7. I am thankful for past friends who I have drifted away from because it taught me that having friends just to have someone/people to spend time with (due to fear of being alone), means that you are that much more unavailable to people who you may have a strong connection or shared interests with.
  8. I am thankful for the time I got rejected by a boy I crushed on for two years in high school because it taught me that I should never waste time thinking of “What if’s” in life without acting on them. It also taught me that mooning over a guy without doing anything about it is a huge waste of time… I should have asked early on, heard the verdict, and then moved on if it wasn’t meant to be.
  9. I am thankful for the wake-up call I had in university when I started to live on my own after high school because it showed me that video-game/tv show addictions held no value in a life where my motto is to always “Level Up!”
  10. I am thankful for the times “he” has threatened to take away things from me or to stop doing things for me because I made “him” angry because it has taught me that the only person I can freely count on, is myself.

Yes, there are many things to be thankful for in life. I appreciate all the good, but it is the hardships I overcame that hold the most value… I think we can all agree when I say, “We wouldn’t be who we are now if it weren’t for the hardships that we battled and won against.”

Leave a Reply

